British National 20km Scratch Race Championship

Newton Take National Title
Courtesy of British Cycling and Larry Hickmott

Chris Newton won the National Scratch title after destroying the field in two devastating injections of pace. Newton spent much of the race a lap ahead with only Brook's Cycles rider Andrew Magnier able to initially match his pace. Eventually Magnier couldn't stay with Newton, who lapped the entire field then sat in the group with the remaining riders. Amid much confusion, it transpired that Magnier lost the lap that he gained but managed to recover enough to be in contention for the sprint for silver, which he won ahead of's Jon Mould.

Chris Newton, who has just finished racing the Tour of Britain for eight straight days, stretches the field out and showed the gulf there is between him and the rest of the field.


1. Chris Newton Rapha Condor Recycling
2. Andrew Magnier Brooks Cycles
3. Jon Mould
4. Mark McNally 100% ME
5. Rhys Lloyd Rapha Condor Recycling

Race time 24mins 20 secs